The Church of the Smolensk Mother of God Odigitrii in the village of Okovtsi was built on the site, according to legend, in 1539 a miraculous phenomenon occurred to local residents of two miraculous icons: the Life-giving Cross of the Lord and the Blessed Virgin Mary Odigitria. In January 1540, icons were brought to Moscow, where they were until July. Then they were returned to Okovtsy, where two small wooden churches were built on the site of their appearance.
The construction of a stone church in the name of the Smolensk Icon of the Mother of God the Odigitriya in Okowcy began in 1750 in the place of old wooden churches. The master of stone works was the master Ivan Semenov Mosyagin from Ostashkov who also built a number of buildings in the Nile Desert. In the beginning, a temple was built with a composition typical of the time, the "octagon on the two-lighted quadrangle". From the west, the refectory church adjoined to it. In the years 1755-56. over the entrance to the church built a small belfry. In the 1767-70's. on the south side of the church they built a chapel.
In the XIX - early XX century, the temple was significantly rebuilt. In 1874, instead of the original, a new refectory church was built.
The church in Okowcy is traditional for local architecture. Chetverik and octagon of the temple had a rich decor. This was most clearly manifested in the keel-shaped tips of windows with "torn" pediments, patterned columns, half-columns with interceptions and stone "melons" of window frames. However, certain decor elements, such as order pilasters, are typical for the architects of the XVIII century.
In the 20 years of the XX century the church was closed, the miraculous icons that were in it disappeared.
Recently, the Smolensk church began restoration work, in the renovated side-chapel services began.