Znamensky convent in Ostashkov originated on the wasteland Staroe Strugovische, or Ubogoe, to the north of the city walls. The place is considered sacred - are buried wanderers and holy ools. Nuns lived here.In the description of Znamensky convent said: "... in 1655 they were 23 nuns and chief among them were Paraskeva and Golenduha. Patriarch Nikon, who drive-through Ostashkov in that year's , granted them alms, to each oxbow to 1 grivna ..." (Uspensky V. "Description of the Ostashkov Znamensky Zhitenev monastery." Tver, 1890, p. 8).
Resolution to the foundation of the monastery was given by Tsar Alexei Mikhailovich in 1673 at the request of Ostashkov older women living in the churches. The subsequent history of the Monastery is not very different from the fate of others like him. Abode of the older women began very soon to acquire land, meadows, receive contributions, donations, and in 1692 was built a new wooden church, and fifty years later the solemn consecration of the stone church. Unfortunately, this temple was built during the early recovery of the entire Russian stone building. And so he came to us with great loss. He was several times rebuilt and expanded in the XVIII-XIX centuries, and after a great city fire in 1868, when burned the whole monastery, cathedral rebuilt on the project of local machinery Demidov. But what is plotted Demidov, has not been fully implemented. After his death arrived from Tver, the architect was afraid to continue building and ordered to proceed to the interiors, and ordered to immediately stop such work, if in the masonry walls and arches to be seen any cracks. The abundance of all thingyы, shirinok, kokoshniks, crosses in the decoration of the cathedral, which Demidov does not regret for his finish, turned the building in the popular print decorated palace. Only the part of the apse can be seen small remains of the ancient buildings, which provide for its original appearance is difficult. Only the descriptions in the documents of the monastery you can try to reconstruct the church. It was "one of the chapter. The church and the chapels are covered with boards ... The belfry with tent top ... Near the church and chapels were built in four places porch or perron... on poles. In there were the sacristy, treasury, grain and cellarer rooms" (Uspensky V. "Description of the Ostashkov Znamensky Zhitenev monastery." Tver, 1890, p. 8).
Traditional five domes appeared in the monastery church at the time of its renovation in 1780, which required the unit of four semi-circular pediments. In addition to the cathedral in the monastery there was another, now is not preserved Tikhvin Church, which stood over the eastern gate. The fence around the monastery was built in 1760 by donations from merchant Sava Yakovlevich Yakovlev (Sobakin), grown rich on the trade in St. Petersburg, and received the rank of collegiate assessor. With the construction of the fence with four towers in the main completed the formation of the monastery grounds. At the same time as the fence would have issued the front entrance to the city's main street. In its architecture, along with Baroque elements have continued to live form and decoration of the pre-Petrine architecture. The walls are separated by broad shoulders and decorated with baroque "patch boards," from the yard decorated archway. Low tower with a hipped metal surface (first wall and towers were covered with planks) was given an impressive sight. In 1864 the north-western part of the wall was rebuilt, enlarged the monastery a few, have made the fifth tower and the new holy gates. On the plus territory settled monastic cell. Some of them, built shortly after the city fire, preserved to this day. The low wooden houses, covered with wood chips, moss sprouted greenish, surrounded the church, form a small monastery in the streets and, despite its recent origin, provide a visual representation of the old wooden building suburbs Ostashkov.
The monastery is not valid, given the building for housing and institutions, but the church is now (at the end of November 2002) - the only functioning church in Ostashkov.