separation line
lake Sig, village Petrikovo, Ostashkov district, Tver region, Russia. +7 (961) 01-66-032   Русский  
separation line

Park Hotel SDL: vKontakte Park Hotel SDL: Instagram Park Hotel SDL: Facebook Follow sdltour: Twitter Park Hotel SDL: YouTube Park Hotel SDL: Booking.com Google Odnoklassniki Trip Advisor Trip Advisor

Zhitenev Virgin Mary Convent

Photo

Zhitenev Virgin Mary Convent
Zhitenev Virgin Mary Convent
Zhitenev Virgin Mary Convent
Zhitenev Virgin Mary Convent

Ostashkov Zhitenev monastery is located near the Ostashkov city on one of islands of Lake Seliger called Zhitenev. Prior to 1700 on the island were granaries for grain stocks, raised by the Office of the Patriarch yard from the inhabitants of the adjacent island Klichno, who later founded the town of Ostashkov. The island is connected to the city by a shaker shaft.

The monastery was founded in the early XVIII century, by order of Emperor Peter the 1st of March 19, 1716.

The reason for the monastery dispensation was the rivalry between the parishioners of Holy Trinity and the Resurrection churches of Ostashkov settlement in owning of the miraculous Smolensk Our Lady Odigitria icon. In ancient times, the icon stood on the the gate of the city wall, and after the destroying fire occurred in 1711, it was found in the ashes completely unscathed. The manuscript of the Ostashkov calls the icon miraculous, attributes a gracious patronage of the city, especially in times of adversity. In order to eliminate competition of churches on the Zhitenev island was built wooden brick church, where was the Smolensk Our Lady Odigitria icon placed as a temple icon.

The church had five chapters, covered with wooden scales; at the central head was a gilded iron cross, on the other - wooden, covered with tin. Widowed priest Leontius Ivanov from Resurrection Church was a head of the Church. The monks from various monasteries began to come there and build themselves cells and do the service.

On June 13, 1734 with the blessing of the Holy Synod building of a stone church dedicated to the Smolensk Blessed Virgin Mary Odigitria started with the warm chapel of the Three Hierarchs: Basil the Great, Gregory the Theologian and John Chrysostom on the right side of the west entrance. The lower part of the temple is square, with a quadrangular sloping ledge for the Altar; the top part is octagonal. There are five chapters with gilded iron crosses. The church was consecrated on December 16, 1743.

In 1751 over the western entrance to the church a stone three tiers bell tower was built and gilded iron cross was put.

In 1761 with the blessing of His Grace Bishop Athanasius, Bishop of Tver and Kashin, left chapel of Rostov Metropolitan St Demetrius the Wonderworker was set, and was consecrated September 21, 1762.

On December 13, 1878 the chapel was consecrated in the name of Reverend Nil Stolobensky Wonderworker, arranged in front of the right chapel for the blessing of His Eminence Philotheus, Archbishop of Tver and Kashin.

During 1760-61 around the monastery in 2 yards was built a stone wall, covered with boards, with 4 towers, covered with iron. Another stone church - over the holy gates, in the name of the Holy Apostles John and Andrew was built with the blessing of His Grace Gabriel, Bishop of Tver and Kashin, and consecrated in 1768. There is one head with an iron gilded cross. Reopened in 1890, when Archbishop Sawa. In1920 the Soviet government closed the monastery. Before the opening at the monastery was located a dairy factory. According to the petition of the Archbishop of Tver and Kashin Victor dated July 17, 2002, the Holy Synod decided to open the Zhitenev Virgin Mary Convent and to appoint a prioress of the monastery nun Elizabeth (Evdokimova).

The monastery is a home to four people: a prioress, a schemanun and 2 novices.

Since the Holy Synod decision for the revival of monastic life during the short period in the monastery had already done a lot: metal gate were installed, house church was undeveloped, where a service takes place on Sundays and holidays, and also being marked the monastic rule and read the Psalms, area and the monastic buildings are cleaned. Construction works without interrupting service are being conducted at the temple gate of the Holy Apostles John and Andrew.

An artesian well for drinking water of the monastery is restored. Two living rooms were built. Materials for prosfora bakery and monastery cellars are procured.

A draft developed which gives a place and carries out planning for the construction of a wooden church in the monastery courtyard in Petrikovo village, which is 15 km from Ostashkov city. In the courtyard is being built a greenhouse for growing vegetables year round.

Mother prioress has adjusted a good relationship with the city professional College, which students attend at the monastery services and assist in ongoing studies. Since the opening of the monastery in the local newspaper "Seliger" Ostashkov was published five articles on the history and current situation of the monastery. There is still no Sunday school at the monastery, but different activities, talks and children's events are held.

The distance from the Park Hotel "SDL": 
10 km