The Ostashkov Monastery is located near the town of Ostashkov on one of the islands of Lake Seliger, called Zhitenniy. Until 1700 on this island there were barns for grain stocks, collected by the Office of the Patriarchal Court from the inhabitants of the adjacent island of Klichno, who subsequently founded the town of Ostashkov. With the city the island is connected by a rampart.
The foundation of the monastery was laid in the beginning of the XVIII century, by the decree of the Emperor Peter the 1st of March 19, 1716.
The reason for the construction of the monastery was the rivalry between the parishioners of the Trinity and Resurrection churches of Ostashkovskaya Sloboda because of the possession of the Miraculous Icon of the Smolensk Mother of God Odigitria. In ancient times, the icon stood on the gates of the city wall and after the fire, which was in 1711 and all destroyed, was found in the ashes completely unscathed. In the manuscript about Ostashkov, the icon is called Miraculous, attributed to her benevolent patronage of the city, especially in times of distress. To eliminate the rivalry of the churches, a wooden church was built on the Zhitny Island, in which it was installed as a temple icon of the Mother of God Hodegetria.
The church was about five chapters covered with wooden scales, on the middle chapter an iron gilt cross, on the others - wooden, upholstered in tin. The widowed priest of the Resurrection Church, Leonty Ivanov, was in charge of the church, to which monks from different monasteries began to come, began to build their own cells and send services.
. In 1734, June 13 the blessing of the Holy Synod began building a stone church in the name of the Holy Virgin Hodegetria of Smolensk with warm limit of the Three Hierarchs: Basil the Great, Gregory the Theologian and John Chrysostom on the right side of the western entrance. The lower part of the temple is square, with a sloping quadrangular ledge for the Altar, the upper octagonal. Five chapters with iron gilded crosses. The church was consecrated on December 16, 1743.
In 1751, above the western entrance to the church, a stone bell tower was built in three tiers and an iron gilt cross was placed on it.
In 1761 with the blessing of His Eminence Athanasios, Bishop of Tver and Kashin, set left the warm side-chapel of St. Demetrius, Metropolitan of Rostov miracle worker, and was consecrated September 21, 1762.
In 1878, December 13 was consecrated a chapel in the name of Reverend Nile Stolobensky Wonderworker, arranged in front of the right side chapel with the blessing of His Eminence Philotheus, Archbishop of Tver and Kashin.
Around the monastery, for 2 fathoms in 1760-61, a stone fence was built, covered with planks, with four towers covered with iron. Another stone church - over the holy gate, in the name of the Holy Apostles John the Theologian and Andrew the First-Called. Built with the blessing of His Eminence Gabriel, Bishop of Tver and Kashin, and consecrated in 1768. It has one chapter with an iron gilded cross. Resumed in 1890 under Archbishop Savva. In 1920, the Soviet authorities closed the monastery. On the territory of the monastery before the opening was a dairy. According to the petition of the Archbishop of Tver and Kashin Victor on 17.07.2002 by the decision of the Holy Synod of the opening of the Mother of God was defined Jiten convent with the appointment of the abbess of the monastery nun Elizabeth (Evdokimova).
In the monastery there are 4 people: 1 abbess, 1 skhimonahinya and 2 novices.
In the short period since the Holy Synod to revive monastic life has done a lot of cases in the monastery: installed metal gates, equipped with a house church, which are made on Sundays and holidays the service, and also marks the monastic rule and read the Psalms, cleared of debris area and monastery buildings. Construction work is carried out without interruption of worship in the church above the church. John the Theologian and Andrew the First-Called.
An artesian well is being restored to provide the monastery with drinking water. Two living rooms are built. Materials are being prepared for the bakery bakery and the monastery cellars.
A project was developed, a place was assigned and a layout was made for the construction of a wooden church on the monastery farm in the village of. Petrikovo, which is 15 km from Ostashkova. On the farmstead a greenhouse is built to grow vegetables all year round.
Mother Superior established good relations with the city vocational school, whose students attend monastic services and assist in current work. Since the opening of the monastery in the regional newspaper "Seliger" Ostashkov was published five articles on the history and current situation of the monastery. There is no Sunday school at the monastery, but classes, conversations and children's holidays are held with children.