It is well known from the city's history that the city has been surrounded by a wooden defensive wall twice. It burned a few times, been built up again, but after a fire in 1711 Ostash refused to build a fortress. The architectural ensemble of the city fortress consisted of three economically and defensive important towers, which served as a customs: South, East and North. On the ashes of the towers grateful Ostash built three pillars of worship for the edification of posterity on the existence of the once fortress. One of them, called Valsky pillar is preserved to this day. It stands on the Volodarsky Street on the shaft at the city museum.
This is a solid bushel ending by a spire. Designed in the baroque style it placed on site of the former South Trade Gate. The most important tower was East Coast passing Tower, which stood at the water's edge on 10, Orlovsky Street. There was the main Customs. Sailboats flocked there, and merchants engaged in brisk trade. Here was placed pillar in the form of a hollow quadrangle, ending with a spire. This structure had two functions - as a memorial and as a lighthouse, which stood on the winter road from Moscow to Novgorod.
Winter road passed by the Volga River system from Moscow to Ostashkov. And from Ostashkov it passed along the Eastern coast of the Klichen island to the Nil’s Hermitage, then through the island Khachin to the Ostrogany along the Khretenskaya luka and river Polonovka to the Polnovo, then Lake Valdai, Ilmen and Novgorod the Great. On this pillar in Ostashkov, on the steeple of the input Svetlitsky tower - entry gate of Nil’s Hermitage and on the lighthouse at the monastery of the village Polnovo in any weather was always kindled the fire. The light from these lighthouses pleased a look of disheveled stranger or a conductor train every time.
At the end of 1930 when laying tubes for water intake of newly constructed bathhouse, Valsky pillar turned out on the way and was destroyed. The third memorial was built at the crossroads of Uritsky Street and Chaikin lane. It was built as a single-domed chapel - octagon, in the classical style with three windows and a door. On the walls there were paintings and icons. It stood next to the harbor of company "Zvezda" (formerly the Nil’s monastery pier), now there is a large garage. There was kept the icon of Saint Barbara Martyr, patron saint of sailors, fishermen and water experts. Burning lamp was always hear the icon, and in the rainy days the fishermen prayed there, asked for protection from their patron. This chapel was demolished after the nationalization of the waterways and fisheries. It interfered to the movement.