Church of Our Lady of Smolensk Odigitrii in the village Okovtsy built on the site, which, according to legend, in 1539 there was a wonderful event to local residents of two miraculous icons: Holy Cross and the Blessed Virgin Mary Odigitrii. In January 1540 icons was brought to Moscow where were before the July. Then they were returned to Okovtsy, where in place of their effects have been built two small wooden church.
Construction of a stone church in the honor of the Smolensk Icon of Our Lady Odigitrii in Okovtsy began in 1750. Supervised the construction of stone-maker Ivan Semyonov Mosyagin from Ostashkov, who also built several buildings in Nil's Hermitage. Initially, the temple was built with the characteristic for that time style "octagon on the double-height quadrangle". From west to adjoin the refectory of the church. A small bell tower was built in 1755-56 years above the entrance to the church. Chapel for the church did to the south side in 1767-70 years.
In the XIX - early XX century the church was substantially rebuilt. In 1874, instead of the original built a vast new refectory of the church.
Church in Okovtsy is traditional for local architecture. Quadrangle and the octagon of temple had rich decor. This is most clearly manifested in the keeled ends of the windows with a "broken" pediments, composing patterned columns and semi-columns with interceptions and stone "melons" of window frames. However some elements of decoration such as an order pilasters are characteristic of the capital architects of the XVIII century.
In the 20s of XX century the church was closed. The miraculous icons disappeared.
Recently in the church began restoration work and in the renovated chapel services have begun.